And I Thought Dissection was Bad Before…

Standard

School here have a range of funding that goes from 0 to minuscule. So imagine my surprise when the Biology teacher announced that we would be dissecting during class. Much to my surprise, the students had to provide all of the materials. That’s right, everyone had to go to the supermarket and pick up a kidney, and then bring in knives to dissect. It was nauseating. I have serious concerns about the Chilean health code after today. I showed up without anything because my group said they would take care of it. The teacher sends us into the “lab” and my friend reaches into her backpack and pulls out a brown smushy blob. I thought my heart would jump out of my chest. Then they broke out the rest of the materials, which for some consisted of a really dull scalpel, and for others consisted of an x-acto knife. The put the kidney on the bare table, and began to hack away at it without any instruction from the teacher. ON THE BARE TABLE. Now while dissecting may not be my favorite thing, it doesn’t completely freak me out like it does to some people. Without the smell of formaldehyde and the fact that one group brought a cutting board it almost resembled cooking. This isn’t the fact that still haunts me however. The fact that no one thought to bring soap is what really made me want to vomit. When clean up time came, they wiped off the table with some wet paper towels and when I commented on the fact that it still wasn’t clean, they looked puzzled and didn’t understand that just because we couldn’t see the blood anymore that it wasn’t clean. I decided not to touch anyone for the rest of the day and skipped lunch. Some experiences are better lived on an empty stomach.

About christabou

I'm just your average blonde white girl from a small town in Colorado. I grew up going to school, skiing and most importantly, traveling. I like to think thats what sets me apart from the others my age. Ive been to Africa, Europe, Central and South America, and even lived for extended periods abroad. Its what I love to do, and here is where I write about it. I hope you enjoy reading my stories as much as I enjoyed living them!

Leave a Reply

